Reading through the Bible together

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Go to previous reading  Leviticus 23  Go to next reading

The Bible

Bible Blog

Known as the Holiness Code in Leviticus chapters 17–26, this informs the Hebrews how to live holy lives, because God is holy (Leviticus 19:2).


The feasts are based on the agricultural calendar and organized around the number seven, and the Sabbath. The sequence of the feasts was: Passover and Unleavened Bread, First Fruits, Pentecost, Trumpets, Day of Atonement, and Tabernacles (also called Booths).


The Passover and Unleavened Bread feasts commemorated the exodus from Egypt, the Lord’s passing over and sparing them, and the unleavened dough they took with them. The First Fruits and Pentecost feasts celebrated the beginning and end of the spring grain harvest. Trumpets announced the preparation for the Day of Atonement (or Judgment), and Tabernacles commemorated their living in tents in the desert and God’s provision and acceptance of them in the Judgment. Each feast was designed to emphasize God’s care and deliverance in the past, as well as His love and provision in the present.


We still must follow what God expects of us today by setting aside personal times and special days to remember what He has done for us and give Him thanksgiving and praise for His love and grace.  And since He is holy, we must grow in holiness.  This can only be accomplished when we spend time with our Lord and maintain a close relationship with Him.


Dean Davis

Atlantic Union College